Book Review: The Piano Man Project

Monday, 22 June 2015

Thank you to the team at Avon and NetGalley for providing me with a copy of Kat French's The Piano Man Project in exchange for an honest review.

Finding love isn’t always black and white…

Charity shop manager, Honeysuckle Jones, has a problem, and her best friends Nell and Tash are on a mission to help her solve it. She needs a man – a caring, intelligent, funny man. But most importantly, a man who's good with his hands… 

Luckily Honey's new neighbour – moody, antisocial ex-chef Hal – fails on almost every count. 

Even though the chemistry between them is electric, he's obviously wrong for her in every way. But when Honey discovers the devastating reason for his moods she decides to give him another chance. And discovers that the best songs aren't always in tune… 

A hilarious, feel-good, sexy romantic comedy for fans of Lucy Diamond, Paige Toon and Giovanna Fletcher.


 BUY BOOK (Available for pre-order. Published 30th of July 2015) | ADD TO GOODREADS

I'm well aware by now that I'm a sucker for romance novels. So, when the opportunity to read Kat French's The Piano Man Project I rushed at it. I'm pleased to say that it went above and beyond my expectations. 

While it's a lovely, light and fluffy read, there is a lot more heart to the story than first meets the eye. It is essentially your modern day love story, but with an intriguing twist. (Look away now if you do not want the spoiler of why Hal's always in a grump) Honey's neighbour Hal is blind. However, he was fortunate enough to live a life before he lost his vision and I think that's what makes it all the more tragic. Hal lost everything he had. Friends, family, his comfortable life - you name it. Honey's moody neighbour who she affectionally calls 'rock star' due to his unkempt look, has lost all hope. 

But a certain Strawberry Girl with the name of Honeysuckle keeps knocking on his door and interfering with the reclusive life he had planned for himself. Honey's persistent in getting to know her new neighbour, even if he swears like sailor and is quite temperamental.

What I liked about this novel was that it wasn't your cliche romance book. There was no insta-love which was a relief as I really enjoyed seeing the relationship between Honey and Hal blossom over time. It allowed me to see the flaws in each of their characters which only made me love them and root for them even more. 

All in all, The Piano Man Project was a hilarious and heart-warming read. One second I would be laughing out loud and the next I would quietly sobbing. It's not your typical, easy romance. There's something much more heartfelt and deep at the core of the story.



Hope you have a great day! Happy reading!
Until next time,
Samantha

Post a Comment

Copyright © Samantha Kilford
Design by Fearne